Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Hanu

Cheese

Recommended Posts

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa, Waheguru ji ki Fateh

Are there any types of cheeses that are not permissible for us to eat in our diet? If so, which ones are they?

Thank you.

Waheguru ji ka Khalsa, Waheguru ji ki Fateh

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That depends on your interpretation of Sikh diet.

Most cheeses have an enzyme called 'rennet' in them which comes from the stomach lining of calves.

If you're a vegetarian then you shouldn't consume any cheese with rennet in it. You can see on the pack if it says rennet or just enzyme then don't eat it. Only eat it if it says 'non-animal rennet' or enzyme.

If you're not a vegetarian then your next concern if where the animal rennet came from. You are 100% not supposed to eat halal meat so you could try finding out if the rennet comes from a halal slaughtered cow. Don't know how you find that out though.

Best thing to do is just stick to cheeses which don't have rennet in them.

Please pardon my mistakes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use