Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
osingh

Flora Light Contains Pork

Recommended Posts

I have been doing research into margarines to see if they are vegetarian.

Just found out that flora light contains pork http://www.florahear...Living/FAQ/Home:

"The lower fat content of Flora Extra Light (18% fat) makes this “slow melt” more difficult to achieve – but we've found that using a small amount of pork gelatine allows us to get that result."

Does the box say "suitable for vegetarians"?

I guess the only way to stay clear of meat in our food is to maintain dietary bibek. It is a difficult and frustrating process to find which products contains meat and which are vegetarian.

Does the logo "suitable for vegetarians" guarantee the product is meat free?

Also doing research on cheddar cheese which may contains Rennet which is a form of meat although there is a Rennet that is apparentely vegetarian and sold by Tesco: http://realfood.tesc...egan-Diets.html

It would be great if we could do some research on certain products that we eat daily to ascertain whether they are meat free. This would greatly help those Gursikhs who maintain a meat free diet.

(please no arguments on whether maas is allowed or not in Sikhi, just suggestions and advice for those who don't consume maas)

Daas

Onkar Singh

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gurfateh ji,

I was just about to throw my sandwiches away after reading this, but thought i'd do some research and found out that flora light sold in the U.K does not contain pork and is suitable for vegetarians.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

some white sugar contains charred bones from cattle to get the white colour. some red coloured sweets have beetles in them to get that red colour look out for carmine on ingrediants. some youghurts also have gelatine in them.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dude the no meat rule is probably based on eating at least 1 full non-veg meal eg. chicken wings or something. Margarine or whatever may contain like 0.001 grams of meat, that dont mean it gonna affect you. Just my 2 cents.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Another problem I have found is that the E numbers used in margarine and other foods could also contain meat. Does the "suitable for vegetarians" sign guarantee that the the E numbers used in the food have not been derived from animal sources? So many foods seem to contain E numbers.

http://www.vegsoc.org/page.aspx?pid=728

e471 is used in margarine although the box says "suitable for vegetarians"?

Again the best way to ensure that we have a meat free diet is to cook our own food. Cooking our food is much healthier because we do not have to add preservatives, E numbers, additives e.t.c. Also I think it would be good if some Gursikhs could contact food companies to find out if the E numbers are derived from animal sources or not.

Rabb Rakhe

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You could always just look for the Vegetarian Society / Vegan Society logo on products. Products these days are tampered quite a bit with why not use it as an incentive to make as many stuff up from scratch...much healthier to mind and body. In the UK as far as margarine goes Vitelite and Pure are free of animal products completely. If your ever concerned its quite easy to steer clear from such things with a few seconds to spare...leave it to the experts and look for the logo. :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Magnum is also not suitable for vegetarians

Just thought I'd let everyone know.

WHY???! nt that im into magnum but....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

"Products these days are tampered quite a bit with why not use it as an incentive to make as many stuff up from scratch...much healthier to mind and body."

Great advice GoKesh jeeo.

The only problem with vitalite could be the e471 used in it. Anchor spreadable does not seem to contain any E-numbers and might be meat free but not 100% sure. It would be great if there was a panel of Gursikhs who could contact manufacturer's and do investigation into this. Again does the veg society logo guarantee that the e numbers have been derived from plant sources and not animal sources?

Daas

Onkar Singh

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

dam i dont undestand any of this e14 e1.. vitamin etc etc etc... e14 sounds lyke a bus 2 me.. thats the only e14 etc etc i know :p

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use