How to do paath, where to start?

Guest kaur0810

Guest kaur0810

SSA to all.

Recently ive been wanting to do paath and include it in my daily routine but im not sure where to start? I am a university student and im very depressed, i also cant read or write in the punjabi language which is making it even more difficult for me to do paath. As of right now, i just play the live kirtan from youtube to help relax myself during the day and before bed. I understand that it is important not only to recite paath but to fully understand it too. Can you please help me, where should i start? how often should i do paath? what should i listen to, try reciting and remembering?

Hi,

I recently started learning Punjabi, through Basics of Sikhi youtube channel.

its very easy it just takes a few hours to memorize the letters and vowels.

id start at learning punjabi first then reciting kirtan sohila in punjabi at night as its the shortest prayer.

Start off by listening to japji sahib, go on YouTube and search japji sahib by Bhai Jarnail Singh that’s the shud uchaaran, DON’T JUST LISTEN TO IT, the video has the gurmukhi on the screen and go through each word with Bhai sahib. Look at the screen to remain alert and if you want to at another time read the English translation which is under the gurmukhi script on the same video. But when you want to listen to paath, go through each word with Bhai sahib on the video. 

The optimum and most beneficial time to receive the most fruits from bani is at amritvela 2am to 6am. Start off by getting up a little later such as 5, have a shower and listen to paath, after listen or recite the Ardas, and pray to maharaj from your heart to bless you with the ability to wake up amritvela again. 

GO AND LEARN SANTHIYA at a gurdwara. Don’t  learn Punjabi at a school or something, learn Gurmukhi santhiya from a gurdwara, are you from the uk? I can send you Gurdwaras where Damdami taksal teach santhiya.