Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'whey'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type



Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start



Website URL



Found 2 results

  1. Guest

    Protein powder

    Wjkk wjkf, I just wanted to know if there are other gursikhs out there that use whey protein. I have been consuming whey protein by MFL for a year. One day out of curiosity I did research on how it is actually made because I'm always self conscious about what I'm eating. After doing reasearch Whey is a extract of cheese, and in the process of making cheese rennet a form of animals stomach lining is used and when the curd or cheese is formed the leftover watery stuff is turned into whey. I have stopped using whey protein from this day and in gonna switch to plant based protein, also I wanted to know if I would have to pesh for this mistake because I was completely unaware of this.
  2. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm Mars starts using animal products Masterfoods' brands are household names Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.http://www.sikhsangat.com/Index.php?app=forums&module=post&section=post&do=new_post&f=2 Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products. Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part. The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible". 'Extremely disappointed' Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October. Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step Vegetarian Society Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey. It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars. "If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods. The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed". "At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement. "Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use