wearing kirpaan

WJKK

WJKF

one quick question..... i guess Guru Hargobind Ji instructed the sikhs to wear swords and practice martial arts(not the kungfu one tongue.gif )

thats y we see guru Harrai ji with swords ...but i never saw a pic where guru Harkrishan ji and Guru Tegh Bahadur ji carrying swords or kirpaan (though i have heard in kathaas that the 9th guru used the tegh(sword)while in one of the battles of 6th guru)

so, did 6th guru really instructed the sikhs to be armed ???????? no.gif

Sat Sri Akal:

The real name of Guru Tegh Bahadur was Tiag Mal. He earned the name Tegh Bahadur wielding the sword in battle.

I cannot say about Eighth Patshah, as I have no knowledge. But pictures regarding Guru Harikrishen Sahib are all artist renditions, not those who actually drew while Guru Sahib posed for a painting. It is their impression, not reality.

WJKK

WJKF

i have no doubt that guru teg bahadur ji ever used a sword....he was master ...as i have listened in kathaa vichaars that he told the executioner that his name is tegh bahadur and he knows how to use, as well as, face the sword bravely!!!

not even an iota is ever mentioned (i read many saakhis...but like in hargobind's and harrai's saakhi its mentioned regularly that ppl were amazed by seeing the roop of saint soldier....its nowhere mentioned neither in pics nor in stories that 8th and 9th guru had sant sipahi outlook!!!)

all i wanna know whether 8th and 9th guru used to carry kirpaan with them or not???? :T:

Yes the Gurus did carry Kirpaans (to my knowledge)

The bodies of the Gurus are the continuation of the Jyot of Guru Nanak.... the message of Guru Nanak was progressively revealed through the ten saroops....

the Sixth Nanak introduced the wearing of the Siri Sahib into practice... all Gurus following on would walk forwards and reveal the message of Guru Nanak further.

So in technicality - yes they would have carried a sword. Whether you see this in pictures = doesn't matter!