Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
S4NGH

Chocolate bars containing Whey: produced using animal rennet!

Recommended Posts

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm

Mars starts using animal products

_42921065_mars203pa.jpg

Masterfoods' brands are household names

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.http://www.sikhsangat.com/Index.php?app=forums&module=post&section=post&do=new_post&f=2

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.

Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.

The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible".

'Extremely disappointed'

Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.

o.gif

start_quote_rb.gif Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step end_quote_rb.gif

Vegetarian Society

Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.

It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.

"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/6673549.stm

Mars bars get veggie status back

_42921065_mars203pa.jpg

The move affected Masterfoods' chocolate and ice cream bars

Mars has abandoned plans to use animal products in its chocolate, and has apologised to "upset" vegetarians.

The firm had said it would change the whey used in some of its products from a vegetarian source to one with traces of the animal enzyme, rennet.

The Vegetarian Society organised a campaign against the move, asking members to voice their concerns to parent company Masterfoods.

Mars said it became "very clear, very quickly" that it had made a mistake.

In just one week, more than 6,000 people bombarded the company, which produces the Mars, Snickers, Maltesers and Galaxy brands, with phone and e-mail complaints.

Forty MPs also signed a petition to voice their opposition.

Fiona Dawson, managing director of Mars UK, said the company had listened to customers and decided to reverse its decision.

o.gif

HAVE YOUR SAY

start_quote_rb.gif The Mars turnaround is about profit, not people power end_quote_rb.gif

Michael Winston, UK

inline_dashed_line.gif

Send us your comments

"The consumer is our boss and we had lots of feedback from consumers who were unhappy about the change," Ms Dawson said.

"It became very clear, very quickly that we had made a mistake, for which I am sorry.

"There are three million vegetarians in the UK and not only did we disappoint them, but we upset a lot of the consumers."

'Principled decision'

The Vegetarian Society had called the move by Mars "incomprehensible" and "a backward step" at a time when consumers were increasingly concerned about "the provenance of their food".

o.gif

start_quote_rb.gif We are very pleased that they now recognise the importance of integrity to all their customers, especially vegetarians end_quote_rb.gif

Dr Annette Pinner

Vegetarian Society

Mars replied that, by admitting its products were no longer suitable for "extremely strict vegetarians", it was making a "principled decision".

Now it insists it will begin changing its recipes back immediately.

Dr Annette Pinner, chief executive of the Vegetarian Society, said she was pleased Mars had been "honest enough" to admit it had "made a mistake".

"A Masterfoods representative has made contact with us and we are very pleased that they now recognise the importance of integrity to all their customers, especially vegetarians," she added.

Rennet is extracted from calves' stomachs and was to have been used in the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars too.

oh man pheeewww!! i can get back to eating my minstrels! yay

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Isn't there a list of unsuitable products? I remember seeing something here

Also the news item is from 2007!!!

Lol yes ive realised that, hence posting the second article.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mars is unsuitable and Twix.

both articles are outdated.

whey without Veg sign is not good.

if whey and Veg sign, then ok for veg to eat.

Why are they unsuitable?

Yes know they are 2007 articles

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
Sign in to follow this  



  • Topics

  • Posts

    • It goes both ways. If you hear the Islamic narrative they also prob up Islamic invaders and rulers as benign. You should hear what they say about an invader like Muhammad Bin Qaasim who is hailed as a hero and who just came to save a few Muslim women while the defender Raja Dahir is portrayed as an evil scheming, degenerate pervert. But historic Muslim sources like the Chachnama convey a different story and testify how the invading Muslim Arabs had taken thousands of Hindu Sindhi women back with them.    Or look at how they view Aurangzeb. They shamelessly justify his hate  and war crimes against the Hindus and Sikhs. Many even call him a Wali of Allah or a great saint much like how the Buddhists view King Ashok. He is universally respected by Sunni Muslims. He is basically the main reason why most Punjabi and Mirpuri Rajputs and Jatts are Muslims in Pakistan today.   The Hindu and Muslim grand narratives are very different. The Sikh grand narrative can best be read at the starting of Bhangu's Panth Prakash. Bhangu very elaborately explains the condition of India before the Guru Nanak Dev ji took avtar and then what followed.
    • see doing stuff like that is just stupid! but then again you cnt expect anything else from india.  marathas were deafed by afghans    but eventually without a doubt they took over india and made it into a hindu state again      iv heard that captain amrinder wanted to remove sikh ithiaas from punjab txt books? 
    • i really liked this movie    the last scene gave me goosbumps!        i wanna watch ajay devgans tanhaji next   
    • thanks I'll look into that 
    • showing the muslims in bad light is part of the hindutva motive though isnt it   so thats why the movies are so unbalanced. these movies are basically used politically and they are having a big impact in india.  but they are gd movies!  iv seen padmavaat  i really liked it   amazing production!    i wouldnt mind if they make a movie about sikh warriors like hari singh nalwa    currently bollywood is really gd with historical epics     
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Terms of Use